Jumping Off A Bridge

 

ImageI’ve always compared the feeling that you get when you do something that frightens you to the feeling that you get when you jump off a bridge. You just have to let yourself fall. As simple as it may or may not sound, it’s really not. If what you have to do is a fobia of yours and not just something a bit scary, it’s going to take a lot of effort. While there are scary things that you complete in a second, there are others that require of you to let yourself fall for a big amount of time. Jumping off a bridge is a matter of jumping and that’s it. But things like singing, speaking in public, riding a roller coaster, etc., are not as short. I don’t know which one is easier. But for all of them, you have to shut down your brain and just do it, exactly like jumping off a bridge.

Being scared is probably one of my biggest fears, because it’s something mental, which means that no one can help you except yourself. It’s something that depends totally on you, people can give you advice but it’s up to you if you want to fix it or not. There may be a lot of manuals on how to overcome some fears, but no manual can help you not to think. And that’s exactly what you have to do.

It’s not easy, I wish there were some instructions to follow that I could share with you, but it’s all about letting yourself fall.

PS. Last week I reached 200 follows on this blog, so I’m very happy for that. And also I was nominated again for the Liebster Award by Just Be V. I’m not going to do the whole thing again because it’s a lot of work and I don’t have a lot of people to nominate but thank you so much.

Thank you guys so much for reading.

Thank you,

Minnie.

 

2 thoughts on “Jumping Off A Bridge

  1. I think there is something really beautiful about ourselves really being the only ones that help us overcome our fears and/or being scared. It’s like a continuous method of self-improvement and I think that’s awesome because most of the time, it isn’t really the thing that scares us, but the unknown outcome ya know?

    I wrote about something similar in nature in my post “Live Courageously By Taking Risks”
    http://heybeccajean.com/2014/03/16/live-courageously-by-taking-risks/

    Becca
    heybeccajean.com

    1. You are totally right. It is beautiful. But for me it’s still a bit scary that it’s up to me, but I guess it’s so rewarding and amazing when you finally overcome the fears.

Your Opinion Here ⇣

