Accepting Others

Image

The most important thing that you have to learn to do is to accept yourself. That may take you months or even years. It’s not something that just happens. But when it does, it opens up a lot of other possibilities. One of them is to accept others.

I can’t tell you that I’ve fully accepted myself, because maybe that’s not true. But I’m in a place right now where I’m pretty happy with everything that I am hence I can do the same with others.

Years or months ago, my best friend and I spent a lot of time with my cousin who was also at our school. Sometimes we were inseparable. And as much as we loved her, there were always some things about her that bothered us. We often talked about it and sometimes preferred to be alone. She is a very nice person but like every person in the world has her flaws. Flaws that bothered us way too much, enough to talk about her behind her back. And this has happened with a lot( well, maybe not a lot) of people. We never were satisfied with other people. It was always just us. And me, being an horrible person, sometimes didn’t completely accept him either.

But I’ve got to admit, I’m very proud of myself. I’m still not a fan of people, but I’ve learned to accept them enough to not prefer to be alone. The other day my brother asked me if I was bothered by the things my cousin was doing, being exaggerated and fakely overexcited, and I was surprised because my answer was: No, not at all, I’ve learned to accept her. And maybe that is because I don’t spend a lot of time with her anymore but I don’t mind being with her, or with any other person. I think that’s very interesting, having so many differences with someone. I’ve learned to learn from it. I want to be with people now and get to know them and get them to know me. Well, there are some limits, I DO NOT want to be with everyone. But I think I’m doing pretty well accepting other people and letting other people accept me.

As much as I like to be alone sometimes, it’s good to have friends. I still don’t have friends, just my best friend who I barely talk to, but I’m still happy. I must say, it sounds stupid, but since I watch youtubers and blog, I feel like I have friends. Watching the same youtubers everyday makes me feel like I know them and that i have someone there. And reading you and writing to you guys is so amazing. I still want to have real friends, and I know that someday I will. I already did the first step: accepting others.

What About You?

Thank you,

Minnie.

7 thoughts on “Accepting Others

  1. Acceptance is one of the hardest things! In fact, it’s something I’m currently struggling with. You’re right, In order to truly accept yourself, you must accept others – the good and the bad. This means ‘letting go’, which is easier said than done *sigh*. As for friends, I can count them on one hand, and that’s the way I like it. I think it’s better to have few close friends, than lots of people you don’t really connect with! Thanks for sharing your thoughts, and I’m glad you have found acceptance 🙂

    1. Yes, it is very hard. And yeah, it is better having a few close friends, always quality aver quantity. I can’t wait to have great friends, even if they are only two. Thanks for commenting, it was great to see your name in my notifications.

  2. I actually got into this post. I located it to be fascinating and loaded with exclusive points of interest. I like to read material that makes me believe. Thank you for writing this fantastic content. kkbebgceedke

  3. Someone necessarily help to make seriously articles I’d state. This is the very first time I frequented your website page and up to now? I surprised with the research you made to create this particular publish extraordinary. Fantastic process! dgbggggecgceeeac

Your Opinion Here ⇣

