Color Psychology: How They Affect Us

IMG_19152
On my bed thinking of how much I’m going to miss all this white!

  “White is totally reflective, awakening openness, growth and creativity. You can’t hide behind it as it amplifies everything in its way. In color psychology white is the color of new beginnings, wiping the slate clean, so to speak. It is the blank canvas waiting to be written upon. While white isn’t stimulating to the senses, it opens the way for the creation of anything the mind can conceive.”

This couldn’t be more right. As much as my favorite color has always been black, there’s nothing else that makes me feel how the color white does. It makes me feel at ease, it makes me feel peace and happiness.

bed
My white bed!

 I don’t have an Ikea bedroom at all, but just the fact that it’s all white makes it look like it’s right for me. When I go to my bedroom at that certain time of the day where the sun is beautifully shining through my white curtain( which for the moment it’s a bed sheet) I think to myself, “so this is what happiness looks like.”

tablillero
This is probably my favorite part of my room, I decided that I didn’t want a drawer or dressing table so I have these(I don’t know what they are called) where I have my stuff. ..blurry..so you can’t see the mess that I have!

It may sound a little silly but those little things are the ones that make me appreciate life even more. And as we all know, it’s scientifically proved that colors can affect our mood.

The colors we wear, the colors of our home, our hair color, they all can affect us in different ways.

_DSC0015
Painting with lights!

According to Google this is what some of them means:

Black:
“This is a powerful, mysterious color and is associated with seriousness. Also associated with sex, death and mystery. Black may make you feel depressed, or on the other hand, may make you feel secure – “hiding in the darkness.””

 (I agree the it may make you feel secure, as it is my favorite color it always makes me feel safe.)

Blue:
“A relaxing color.  Blue lowers blood pressure, calms, gives a sense of security, and suppresses appetite.”

Brown:
“This is an organic, earthy color.  It can make you feel cozy.”

(That’s true)

Green:
“This is the easiest color for the eyes to focus on for long periods of time.  It soothes pain and is associated with optimism. May make one feel happy, clean, fresh.”

Orange: 
“This color is friendly, relaxing and ambitious.”

Pink: 
“This is a youthful, feminine color.  Pink is also a soft, sensitive color. This is basically a “happy” color.”

Purple: 
“This color is often associated with royalty.  It is also a contemporary color. Purple has a list of associated feelings, from feeling mournful to creative.”

Red:
“This color raises the blood pressure, stimulates appetite and conversation and is often associated with excitement, action, impulse.”

White:
“White is often associated with purity, cleanliness. Also associated with nothingness, and in some cultures death and/or mourning. Can make one feel clean/sterile.”

Yellow:
“This color is an eye irritant and a highly emotional color.  After long periods of time, yellow invokes feelings of anger and hostility.  However, yellow, in small doses, is a friendly, happy color.”

I believe that we all have one or two colors that make everything better, mine are without a doubt black & white, what are yours?

Thank you,

Minnie.

2 thoughts on “Color Psychology: How They Affect Us

  1. Hey! This is my first time on your blog. This post is amazing. Thanks for sharing. It really caught my eyes and I always wanted to know what colors mean. I would love if you could do more posts related to color psychology.
    P.S thanks for the follow!

    1. Aw thank you so much for saying that! I love all of that stuff so I’ll definitely consider doing another post about it (:

      P.S You’re welcome!..and thank you.

Your Opinion Here ⇣

