“Crushed Dreams” (Failures)

Even though I don’t like to think like that anymore, this week has not been the best. It has been failure after failure. I’ve been feeling insecure, crushed and just not good enough.

The last photo I did, “A Woman’s Place” was supposed to be for my sister’s kitchen because she personally asked for it. I thought after all the critics that she told me while I was doing it, it would end up in a way that she would like it. Well..even though I did, she didn’t. It hurt me so much, and I know that I’m going to face that a lot of times in my life, but some part of me felt like I failed. I think it was the fact that we were so excited for it that hearing her said that, made me feel sad. Then I told my father that she didn’t like it and he practically told me that he didn’t like that much either. You can’t even imagine how I felt at that moment. Heartbroken. If it hurts hearing people saying bad things about something that you’ve work hard for and that you love, it’s even harder to hear it from your family. I know it’s relative but I really thought that it was pretty and that they were going to like it. I still love it anyway, I’m not going to let a few opinions change that, but it hurts. So I guess I won’t see that one on any wall, for now.crushed dreams

I think that their opinions really affected me though. This photo “Crushed Dreams”, is my third failure this week. Before this one, I tried to make two photos, they didn’t work at all. I didn’t know what I was doing and when I was going to edit them they just wasn’t good, I wasn’t feeling it at all. But I still managed to do this one from today, but I’m not very happy with it either. I’m trying to make a new one each week to keep practicing and improving but the fact that I have only my room to work on and only two dresses doesn’t help my imagination flow.

I didn’t want to sound negative at all, these things are not going to make my week necessarily bad, they are just little obstacles that you have to learn to deal with.

There are going to be a lot of people in your life that won’t like what you do, but if only one person does, that means that other millions will too. Don’t let them bring you down and stop you from what you want to achieve. Work hard. And one failure is only going to be one of many, at least it prepares you to work harder for your next project.

It is impossible to live without failing at something, unless you live so cautiously that you might has well not have lived at all, in which case you have failed by default.

You are capable of more than you know. Choose a goal that seems right for you and strive to be the best, however hard the path. Aim high. Behave honorably. Prepare to be alone at times, and to endure failure. Persist! The world needs all you can give.

How Do You Deal With Failures?

Thank you,

Minnie.

9 thoughts on ““Crushed Dreams” (Failures)

  1. I know as a songwriter how down I can get when someone close to me doesn’t like what I’ve written. I really thought that “Crushed Dreams” was excellent. I may be off here, but it’s reminiscent (to me) of something Tim Burton would do. I hope that doesn’t offend you, I mean that as a compliment. Keep up the great work!

    1. That’s probably the best compliment I can get on a photo!! I really really love everything related to Tim Burton. Hehe thank you so much, you’ve made my day (:

  2. Hi!I wanted to share your feelings.Actually, i feel there is a way to express opinions without diplomacy, with complete truth and justice…but kindly.Words are really daggers which cut us deep down to our hearts.This art of adorning the attire of speech with suitable words is unfortunately, not know to all, just like the art of embroidery or embellishments.
    I wanted to convey that sieve the comments, expressions or opinions of others through the strainer of positivism.Positivism comes naturally as a result of YOUR desires, wishes and expectations.Expectations in every aspect of life from others is a great big risk, which is not always paid back as expected.Depend your success upon your inner voice which compels you to create art.If it signals justice done, than you don’t need to worry about the reflections of others thoughts.I know this medium compels you to converge exactly what’s in the mind of others in your work, but next time you can have a longer and detailed session with people to be exactly compatible with them.
    It demands reading minds, which comes from experience.
    As far as my opinion is concerned, i feel the photo does justice with the name and reflects how people are dismal when their dreams are crushed.It takes colors off their otherwise colorful lives.Melancholy is the color of your photo.Those who have ever met with such an incident can easily relate to your photo.
    I hope no harsh words ever jitter your confidence and talent.Don’t let others leave YOU with CRUSHED DREAMS.

    1. You are so kind for taking the time to tell me this. Very wise words that couldn’t be more right. Thank you so much for this comment, it really means a lot 😀

  3. Unfortunately for most people unless your family member is an artist, your family will very rarely understand your work and often find it difficult to talk to you about it. It may be because they are so close to you, it’s hard for them to look at it as an observer in the way strangers do, they think they know you, they may feel they are better then to be what they think is being honest with you, there is probably even an unconscious jealousy from some of them.

    My own experience is simply that they are too close to understand your art. I recently for the first time showed my mum a story I had written and asked her to edit it. It took a lot of courage. I asked her to read it to me aloud without having read it first and also made it clear that it took a lot of guts to show someone. She does write herself but has never tried to publish so I think my stressing how hard it is to show someone your work at first made her be kinder (she can be very blunt). It was a very liberating experience for me because I think there will be few harsher critics than her, so once I’ve shown her it won’t be so scary to show other people.

    The point is – if you are creating the art with the aim of getting praise from your close family then you are setting yourself up for disappointment (I don’t think that’s your intention, but at this young stage your families approval clearly means a lot to you). You kind of have to take your family out of your prospective fan base because your biggest fans and supporters will be strangers and fellow artists. Look to your peers for input and critic – they know how crushing it is for people to simply say they don’t like it and they will give you helpful suggestions without making you feel like a failure.

    I think both pictures are really interesting and the kitchen one is really quirky. I love your work and I think you have huge potential but try to remind yourself that actually if you are an artist you do it because you have to – for yourself – not for praise and then just keep doing it, keep practicing, keep putting your work out there and keep looking for opportunities. Stay brave and take your family’s opinions out of the equation.

    I really love watching speeches from other artists who have been successful – this one particularly. I love his resounding statement – whatever happens “Make Good Art” that is the purpose.

    I hope you find your motivation again – it’s difficult to keep going sometimes but all the great artists had one thing in common – they relentlessly persevered when others would have quit – that’s how you succeed. Now get out there and start planning your next piece of work – and put your heart into it.

    1. Wow, thank you so much for this comment. You’re right. This helped me a lot. Today has not been a very good day for me, but you just made it better. Thank you.

      1. Hope it’s encouraged you to keep going. I have to tell myself the same things all the time, unfortunately this doubt and these bad days are something that any creative person has to go through regularly but you also get people telling you how amazing you are (which you are) hope tomorrow is better for you.

Your Opinion Here ⇣

