Tsunami Dreams: What They Mean!

Lately, I’ve been dreaming a lot with tsunamis. And I’m sure anyone that has ever dreamt that before can relate when I say it’s terrifying and disturbing. Not pretty at all.

I can’t quite remember if I I’ve always been obsessed with them or if my obsession started when I was seeing them in my dreams, but I’m obsessed. Maybe my phobia of the sea has to do a little something with it, but of all the natural catastrophes, tsunamis have always been my worst nightmare. Just the thought of seeing the big wave coming over me is just…uuhhhhh NO.

world-without-taylor-swift-13

I was dreaming with tsunamis almost every night. I remember the first one, we were on my sister’s boat (she doesn’t have one in real life) and the tsunami was coming and of course we wouldn’t have time to escape so it was pretty clear we were going to die. And I remember being so disappointed thinking “Wow, I really thought I was going to live many years and accomplish my dreams”, and then we survived. Don’t ask me how. In the other dreams, I’m usually very scared, panicking really, of tsunamis, and they’re always two waves, never big though. But I always run and run and never die.

For those of you who doesn’t know, there’s a reason why a person keeps having tsunamis dreams.

“To see a tsunami in your dream means that you are being overwhelmed by some repressed feeling or subconscious material that is rising up to the surface. You are experiencing some unhappiness and emotional instability in a waking situation.”

It usually happens when we are under a lot of pressure or a significant change is occurring. It also says that if in you’re dream you are confronting the big wave, you’re ready for it. And if you’re running from it, well..apparently you’re not.

When I read all of that, I instantly knew what was going on with me.

Maybe the fact that I’m moving in two or three months to a place that I don’t know very well, gg64037423where I have to speak a language I’m not comfortable in, where I have to instantly be independent is a big tsunami. The thought of it has been haunting me for months, and I always try to run from it. But at the end of the day, no matter how scary and big it’s going to be, I’ll survive.

 

After reading a lot, I decided to watch videos of tsunamis. I thought that if I watched them, it would help my mind to somehow get over them. In a way, the thought seemed ridiculous but it actually did help me. After watching 23 minutes of the tsunami of Japan, I was very calmed.

You know, I don’t know if it’s just me, but I always thought that a tsunami ALWAYS came as a HUGE wave that no matter how high you were it was going to get you.

tsunami

 

But after seeing videos and reading about them, I was very satisfied that that is not always the case. They don’t always make it as a big wave to the shore, normally it’s just a very fast and destructing river.

4632016-4x3-700x525

It’s still scary but knowing that I can potentially survive changed my vision of them.

What do you think of tsunamis?

thank you, minnie copy

 

7 thoughts on “Tsunami Dreams: What They Mean!

  1. Sorry to hear about the upheaval in your life, Minnie. I hope that you like the place that you’re moving to. I used to think that Tsunami’s were giant waves, too. I know that they’re still dangerous, but not quite as bad as if they were gigantic!

    1. I’m moving to the US which is exactly what I wanted but it’s still scary..I hope I like it too (: And I’m so relieved now that I know that about tsunamis!

  2. I have recurring nightmares where I lose all control of my legs. I can’t walk, I can only army crawl around. It’s the worst. I’ve never really tried to decipher the meaning behind it, which is odd because I’m always overanalyzing everything. But oh well. I hope your journey to the US is smooth and wonderful!

    It would me the world to me if you’d check out my blog, http://uglyprettypeople.wordpress.com !

  3. I just dreamt about a huge! Huge wave coming at us and I just remember saying ..we’re f**k..then woke up out of breath …horrible feeling for sure …I remember most of my dreams and most of them are ok except when I dream about waves or hunted houses ..I have had dreams of hounted houses more recently than not …and don’t know why. ..but its pretty scary as well ,specially when you are in it and can feel the precense of something there …anyway …hope you have overcome those fears

Your Opinion Here ⇣

