Girl Online by Zoe Sugg Review

tumblr_nfq7w7yI491qcoffto1_500

There are several kinds of books.

The ones that you can’t stop smiling about when you finished them, and then the ones that you can’t stop crying.

The ones that you keep looking at how many pages you have left because you want to know what’s going to happen already, and the ones where you are sad because there aren’t many pages left.

And then there are the ones that you just have to hug and close your eyes because you realized that it changed your life.

I never do book reviews, but because this book falls into all the categories above, and my favorite youtuber Zoe Sugg wrote it, I just felt the need to.

Normally, when I read a book, I get anxious when I see so many pages yet to be read, but with Girl Online it was completely the opposite. I felt like I was on a vacation. I didn’t want to finish it because I didn’t want to leave the characters. I’ve read many books that I’ve absolutely loved and can honestly say they had changed my life. But I’ve never felt so identified as I did with this one.

1. Penny (the main character) is a blogger. I don’t have thousand of followers like her but still.

2. Although I don’t suffer from panic attacks, I do suffer from social anxiety.

3. She’s a photographer.

4. Same taste in guys, because Noah is to die for.

It’s inspiring how she gets over some of her fears and start believing in herself. This story covers everything; friendship, cyber bullying, fear and love. A perfect combination. As serious as it may sound, it’s not. I actually found myself cracking up several times, which happens very rarely.

I don’t think my words are making my excitement for this book justice. Reading this was a whole different experience, a perfect one.  I’m just so thankful that I know of Zoe’s existence, and that I was able to read this precious story. By the way, my opinion is not biased in any way. And I know there’s been a lot of controversy with the ghostwriter thing, I personally don’t care and it doesn’t make me love the book less. It’s Zoe’s first time writing a book, so I completely understand the help, and despite of how well written it was, what I really loved was the characters and the story, which was Zoe’s idea. And yes, maybe it was a little cliché, but I’m tired of people thinking that everything is cliché, I’m not afraid of “cliché”, I believe sometimes it’s not about what you’re saying, being overrated or not, it’s how you say it. I adored the way the story was told.

If you like YA fiction, you should read this. Maybe it’s not the greatest book for people who know a lot about literature and are freaks of books, but for a person like me, it was all I needed when I read it.

And here’s the synopsis, because I’m soooo good at book reviews that I didn’t even told you what the book was about.

Penny has a secret.

Under the alias GirlOnline, she blogs about school dramas, boys, her mad, whirlwind family – and the panic attacks she’s suffered from lately. When things go from bad to worse, her family whisks her away to New York, where she meets the gorgeous, guitar-strumming Noah. Suddenly Penny is falling in love – and capturing every moment of it on her blog.

But Noah has a secret too. One that threatens to ruin Penny’s cover – and her closest friendship – forever.

Let me know what you think of it if you’ve read it.

IMG_2393

20 thoughts on “Girl Online by Zoe Sugg Review

      1. Haha it was the parts where she was blogging, Idk..she was cool..and british…maybe her blog reminded me of yours..hhaha you tell me if it reminds you of yourself when you read it okay?

      2. OH I REMEMBERED NOW EXACTLY THE MOMENT THE BOOK MADE ME THINK OF YOU. At one point, she wrote a sad post (I think) and she was worried that her readers weren’t going to like it, but a lot of people told her that it actually helped them…and I remembered that one time you wrote a personal sad post and I saw some of your comments saying that it helped them and that sort of stuff!

        A little irrelevant, I know…sorry, I remembered and wanted to tell you.

      3. No, no. Awwwww thank you for telling me, that’s so sweet 😀
        Amazing, really.

  1. I read this book and didn’t enjoy it at all. I usually enjoy YA books but I found this one to be a little terrible

    1. I’ve read a lot of reviews saying the same, but I guess it really depends on the person reading it, I’m not very picky and exigent with books, and I got identified, so that contributed a lot to the fact that I loved it.

  2. I finished reading this book about a week ago and it is definitely the best book I have ever read and zoe sugg is also my favourite you tuber but I am obsessed with all the you tubers haha

Your Opinion Here ⇣

