My First Job!!!

I seriously need all the good vibes that you could possibly send me, and a lot of courage and strength.

I’m glad I can finally tell you something new and exciting about my life. It took me only three hours to get a job. A job. MY FIRST ONE. IN ENGLISH. WITH PEOPLE. Do you even know what that means?

So, this Friday I went to an employment agency, I had to go by myself, because I knew that if I went with someone, it would have been harder for me to speak to someone in English.

It took me one minute taking deep breaths by the door before I could speak to the receptionist. I don’t even know what I asked her, I just know that it was in the most horrible accent and in my most nervous voice. But I felt so relieved afterwards.

I don’t know how this happened but I was the luckiest, honestly. After a couple of minutes, someone sat right next to me. As soon as I saw him I knew he was from Puerto Rico too. And he helped me fill out some papers that I didn’t know how.

Then I got even luckier, a woman that worked there, told me that she loved my hair. She was being really nice. I didn’t answer much, but when I did, it was, again, with a really bad accent.

I was so glad when she told me she was going to interview me, because when she saw where I was from, she started what?? Mhm, speaking Spanish. A Mexican sent from heaven. I think I just died for a second of happiness. Of course, I was looking forward to speak English, but if it weren’t for her, I probably wouldn’t have a job. She helped me so much, with EVERYTHING. On top of that, I showed her my photos, and she told me she wants me to do one for her daughters. How great is that?

The job is at a factory, so at least I don’t have to speak that much. But guys, I’m so scared. I don’t want to make a bad first impression and I know that when I get nervous and scared, I get really serious so that no one talks to me. I don’t know how to do this. I start tomorrow. I’m terrified.

Anyway, regardless of how scared I am, I couldn’t be happier and more thankful right now. This is the start of something great. I just know it. But please, send me strength. A lot.

Thank you so much,

Minnie.

P.S. My handwriting and math skills apparently go party everyday because they were drunk. Completely. What a mess they have become. I’m so not proud.

12 thoughts on “My First Job!!!

  1. Congrats on a job! That fear of the first day never goes away, no matter how many jobs you have had. Totally normal to fear the unknown. I had to move to a new location with the same company and was still nervous on my first day at the new place.

    I think you will do great! Sending you boat loads of good vibes! Just remember to breath and smile!

  2. Congratulations lovely! You deserve it! It’s normal to be nervous, should of seen me on the first day of my job! I was a nervous wreck! But I quickly settled in, and now I can be myself in front of everyone I work with. Good luck and let us know how it goes!x

    1. Thanks (: I really hope that I can settle in pretty fast and feel comfortable! I have a feeling that once I’m there I won’t feel so bad. I’ll let you guys know how it went! πŸ˜€

      1. I bet you will, honestly! I have always been quite a shy person but since I started working I have gained quite a lot more confidence. Not in myself, but with other people.
        I hope that you get that too! ❀

Your Opinion Here ⇣

