“Weathered” | First Day At First Job

Hey, would you like to know how my first day at my first job went?

Just look at this:

hell_forever_and_ever

It is actually easier to show you a picture instead of words considering the amount of pain my arms and hands are going through right now.

If you didn’t know, the job is at a factory. Assembly. All the people that had told me about their experiences working in a factory, made me picture something really boring, but not at all what mine looks like. No, no, not that it wasn’t boring, because OH believe me, it was tedious. I just really thought that the work was like putting some little pieces together or something like that, simple. To my surprise, not that I like to separate men jobs and women jobs, but this is definitely something men do.

It was hard, it was big, I had to use a lot of strength, there were a lot of things to do……and all of that under 40 seconds. Trust me, there are so many steps, I think that to expect me to do it in my first day under 40 seconds it was a little too much.

Silly me that thought my only worry was the people and my lack of ability to communicate with them. That actually was nothing compared to the actual work. I didn’t understand a lot of what some people told me, but you know, I just laughed, smiled, nod, and just said “okay”. But really, I’m so proud of me, because I had the courage to say more than three words to someone in English, and it felt good.

I guess I’ll let you know if I get used to it.

Without forgetting the real point of this post, let’s talk about this week’s photo. In the last one, I said that being barefoot on the snow wasn’t that painful, but that’s due to the fact that I never stood on it. For this image, I decided to do it. It was…let’s say, funnily painful? It made me laugh. And it made me smile. It was like standing on ice, nothing funny about that so I really don’t know why it made me feel that way.

Weathered

Anyway, I’m really happy with it, let me know what you think.

P.S. While you’re reading this, I’m probably at work..so if you could just pray for a second and ask for HELP for me, I would be grateful. (:      -___-

P.S.P.S. What the actual heck is wrong with this factory? Only a 15 minutes lunch? How do you expect me to walk to the break room, go to the restroom, reheat my food, eat it and go back to my line in such a ridiculous amount of time? HOW?

IMG_2393

13 thoughts on ““Weathered” | First Day At First Job

  1. In this photo, I see that the leaves are dry and brittle, yet you hold onto them. Like holding onto the past, even if it’s just a few leaves out of many. Yet you hold on with a determination, almost a defiance, that these memories will stay with you while you look to the future.

    I said a prayer for you, Minnie. 15 minutes is hardly enough time to rest, let alone eat lunch. Things will get better and never, ever lose sight of your dreams….

    1. Aw that’s such a lovely way to see it. Very true to what I’m feeling.

      15 minutes are absolutely nothing. I won’t, this experience has actually motivated me to pursue them with more strength and determination. Thank you (:

  2. 15 minutes for lunch??!! That’s crazy! I worked at a factory (though I worked in the office and not on the line) we had 45 minutes for lunch. And anywhere else I worked I had a 30 minute lunch. I have had 15 minute breaks…but that was on top of a 30 minute lunch. That’s ridiculous. I don’t know what the rules are in the state you are living in, but in SC it’s mandatory for anyone working 6 or more hours to be given a 30 minute lunch. You might want to look into that.

    I love the picture! It made my feet colder. They were already cold but I imagined them in snow and now I feel like my feet are turning to ice. lol

    1. I know right? It’s totally insane. Where I lived, in Puerto Rico, it was most of the time one hour for lunch. But I was prepared for only 30 minutes because that’s what everyone told me they have had. But 15??? I will definitely look into it.

      Hahaha thank you! At least it made you feel something.

  3. Oh Minnie, I’m really proud of you that you keep on going with your head high even if some things are tough. Better things will come along your way I promise you! But 15 minutes break is horrible, is it normal in the States? Here you have at least 45 – 60 minutes. My prayers are with you and stay strong, we’re here for you! Lots of love /Nad

    1. Oh thank you, I kind of have to if I want to go to the places I want in life. I can’t wait to get something better.

      30 minutes is normal here, but everyone is so surprised with the 15 minutes, so I don’t think it’s normal.

      Thanks for always being so nice, Nad! ❤

  4. Why Hello! I would like you to know that I have nominated you for the “Sisterhood of the World Blogging Award”! (https://brandedexplorer.wordpress.com/2015/01/27/peer-recognition-sisterhood-of-the-world-bloggers-award/)
    I don’t have any expectations regarding the “obligatory response post” – honestly, I get that it is annoying to a lot of people. But I wanted you to know that I think your blog is awesome and I am hoping other people find your blog and love it as much as I do.
    Best of luck to you!

  5. Hi Minnie, I really love the way you write this blog and I just started a photo blog and really was not sure how one goes about writing one.. But you have inspired me to write more. Plus I really like your photographs, they are lovely. It is difficult to do both work and do the kind of photography we want to do but if you keep at it you will definitely get there one day. 🙂

    1. Hey, thank you for those words. I really appreciate it, and I’m so glad my blog inspired you. It is hard, I’m at a point in which I’m struggling so much to even think of how I’m going to make my ideas come to life. But, if you’re persistent, it’s possible to do it.

      1. Yes, I myself work as an Architect, then I have a 5 yr old who is extremely demanding, so it is quite a challenge to do photography as well. But I know that I will get there one day. 🙂

Your Opinion Here ⇣

